Ups and downs of an ordinary life – my cautionary tale

Fascinating read

There's an Elephant in the Room blog

Child bunnyAbout me

I’m a very ordinary person. I’m middle-aged, with two sons who are both grown and nearing 30 and I’ve been a single parent since they were about 10. I’m practical and resourceful and until I retired a year ago I was a project manager overseeing the construction of educational establishments for a local authority. I’m analytical with a tendency to over-think things.  I’ve never been attracted to mysticism, organised religion or esoteric pursuits. My mind defaults to scepticism about new ideas until I’ve looked into the pros and cons. I’m not particularly sociable; I have a few people in my life that I care about very much but that’s it.

I’ve never been particularly attracted to babies except for my own, or to animals in general, only those individuals whom I have known, loved and admired. As a child no animals shared our house and as an adult, cat friends have come and gone. For 16 years I lived…

View original post 2,588 more words

Leave a Reply

